The Society for Marine Mammalogy: Inviting applications for ‘Small Grants In Aid of Research’ to help support marine mammal research in low-income countries.

Funding brief: The Society for Marine Mammalogy established a program to help support marine mammal research in low-income countries in 1999. Applications are particularly welcome from scientists working in Africa, Asia, Latin America, Pacific Island states, and countries which made up the former USSR.

Donor Name: The Society for Marine Mammalogy
Funding name: Small Grants In Aid of Research

Deadline: Applications are accepted annually during the month of June.

Funding details link:

Funding limit: Individual awards of up to $2,000 (U.S.) may be made annually.

Special Notes: Please contact with the donor directly for further clarification and understanding.

Project start date: Not found

Project duration: The awards are for one year only but successful applicants may re-apply in subsequent years provided they meet all the conditions of the prior award, including the annual report. Precedence is given to those who have not received funding in prior years.

Eligible organization: As below

Eligibility:Applicants must meet all three of the following eligibility requirements:
● Be a member of the Society for Marine Mammalogy
● Be a national of one of the low-income countries as identified above (preference is given to early career researchers such as students and researchers with less than 5 years post-doctoral experience)
● Be conducting research in one of the low-income countries as identified above

These grants are intended to support marine mammal field research directly. For example, funds are intended for the purchase of essential equipment, travel to field sites, or other fundamental components for conducting the research. Applications for conference fees, meeting attendance, workshop travel or salaries will not be considered. The Society does not provide funding for indirect costs.

Eligible Country: The Society’s International Relations Committee has defined all countries except the following as low-income countries: Andorra, Antigua and Barbuda, Aruba, Australia, Austria, Bahamas, Bahrain, Barbados, Belgium, Bermuda, Brunei Darussalam, Canada, Cayman Islands, Channel Islands, Chile, China-Hong Kong SAR, China-Macao SAR, Croatia, Curacao, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Equatorial Guinea, Estonia, Faroe Islands, Finland, France, French Polynesia, Germany, Greece, Greenland, Guam, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Isle of Man, Israel, Italy, Japan, Kuwait, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Monaco, Netherlands, New Caledonia, New Zealand, Northern Mariana Islands, Norway, Oman, Poland, Portugal, Puerto Rico, Qatar, Russian Federation, Saint Kitts and Nevis, San Marino, Saudi Arabia, Seychelles, Singapore, Sint Maarten (Dutch part), Slovakia, Slovenia, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Trinidad and Tobago, Turks and Caicos Islands, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States of America, United States Virgin Islands, Uruguay, Venezuela. This list is from the Population Division of the United Nations Department of Economic and Social Affairs*.

Submission mail: Not found

Other important link:
● Apply:
● About:

How to apply: Interested applicant may apply through the website (

Visit all Funding opportunities:
Visit all funding categories:

Facebook page-Fund for Bangladesh


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: