European Commission: Inviting applications for ‘Lorenzo Natali Media Prize’ to recognize the dedication of journalists whose work helps to create a better world.

Funding brief: Through this prize the European Commission recognizes the dedication of journalists whose work helps to create a better world.

The Natali prize will acknowledge outstanding reporting on development issues and applications are open from 5 February to 9 March for online, print or audio-visual works.

It will reward outstanding reporting on issues such as poverty eradication, and the economic, social and environmental dimensions of sustainable development, as outlined in the new European Consensus for Development.

The Consensus is an ambitious vision for the EU institutions and Member States’ development policy, which calls for better coordination and coherence in support of peace, the planet, people, prosperity and partnerships.

Prize categories:
● The prize has two categories based on age: 21 to 26 years old, and 27 years plus. For each category there will be a winner from each region: Africa; the Arab World and the Middle East; Asia and the Pacific; Latin America and the Caribbean; and Europe.
● A “Grand Winner” will be selected from among the regional winners, and an additional thematic prize will be awarded for work focused on the elimination of violence against women and girls.
● Winners will receive their awards at a ceremony during the 2018 European Development Days (link is external) in Brussels this June.

● Theme 1 – Development: Entries must address issues on development in the developing world. The countries where Directorate-General for International Cooperation and Development and Directorate-General for European Neighbourhood Policy and Enlargement Negotiations provide development assistance are considered part of the developing world. Please consult the homepage to see in which countries the EU provides development assistance.

Entries under this theme will be classified under one of five regions: 1. Africa; 2. Arab World and the Middle East; 3. Asia and the Pacific; 4. Latin America and the Caribbean, and 5. Europe. The classification will be based on country of residence of the applicant or on its media organisation/media outlet’s headquarters location. Two winners (depending on the age of the applicant) shall be awarded per region; therefore, there will be up to ten winners in total for the Development theme.

● Theme 2 – Eliminate violence against women and girls: For 2018 the Lorenzo Natali Media Prize shall award a special prize for submissions related to the elimination of violence against women and girls. Entries for the special prize can be made by journalists from any of the five regions mentioned above.

Length: Submitted entries are subject to length limitation. Text based entries must be maximum 1500 words long. Video and audio entries must be maximum 10 minutes long.

Donor Name: European Commission
Funding name: Lorenzo Natali Media Prize

Deadline: Applications are open from 5th, February until 9th, March, 2018

Funding details link:

Funding limit:
● There will be up to 11 winners. Categories can be left deserted if quality is not met. The 11 winners are distributed as follows:
● Two winners (junior and senior) will be awarded per region (1.Africa 2.Arab World and the Middle East 3.Asia and the Pacific 4.Latin America and the Caribbean 5.Europe). They will receive a trophy and prize of EUR 5 000. A Grand Prize will be awarded in addition to one of the winners. The Grand Prize winner will receive additional trophy and EUR 5 000. A Special Thematic Prize will award the best entry focusing on the elimination of violence against women and girls. The winner will receive a trophy and prize of EUR 5 000.
● The winners are expected to participate in the Award Ceremony to be held in Brussels on 5/6 June 2018. The European Commission will cover the cost of the winners’ travel to Brussels for the Award ceremony (in the case of jointly authored or produced items, please note that only one person will be funded).

Special Notes: Please contact with the donor directly for further clarification and understanding.

Project start date: N/A
Project duration: N/A

Eligible organization: As below

● Journalists are invited to submit their work (link is external) in any format, i.e. published online, print, radio or TV broadcast.

Two categories of applicants will be identified:
● Junior journalists (between 21 and 26 years old on 9 March 2018)
● Senior journalists (above 27 years old on 9 March 2018).
● The applicants will automatically fall under one of these categories when filling in the application form.

● The entries must have been published (print or online) or broadcasted (radio or television) in one of the five above-mentioned regions.
● The participants must be the authors and holders of the copyright and the moral rights of their work.
● Laureates cannot compete again for the Prize the year following their award, but are eligible for subsequent editions.
● Journalistic works submitted by current members of staff of the European Union institutions, people involved in the pre-selection process, the jury or MC-Phrenos will not be considered. These people can enter the contest three years after leaving their position.

Eligible Country: The contest will be open to all journalists whose HQ media is based from one of these regions:
● Africa
● Arab World and the Middle East
● Asia and the Pacific
● Latin America and the Caribbean
● Europe

Submission mail:
Not found

Other important link:
● Apply:
● Guideline:

How to apply: Interested applicant may apply through the website (

Visit all Funding opportunities:
Visit all funding categories:

Facebook page-Fund for Bangladesh


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: