The World Academy of Sciences (TWAS) and Lenovo: Inviting Applications for award to scientists from the developing world for outstanding achievements in Geological Sciences.

Donor Name: The World Academy of Sciences (TWAS)
Award name: TWAS-Lenovo Science Prize

Award brief: The TWAS-Lenovo Science Prize is one of the most prestigious honors given to scientists from the developing world. In 2017 the prize will be given for outstanding achievements in Geological Sciences.

Goal: Together, TWAS and Lenovo are offering the TWAS-Lenovo Science Prize, which is intended to give international recognition and visibility to outstanding scientific achievements made by individual scientists in developing countries.

Deadline: 15th, May 2017

Award details link:

Award limit: The winner receives USD 100,000.

Special Notes:The TWAS-Lenovo Science Prize will carry a monetary award of USD100,000 provided by Lenovo, as well as a medal and a certificate highlighting the recipient’s major contributions to science. The prize will be presented to the recipient at a special ceremony arranged by TWAS.

Project start date: N/A
Project duration: N/A

Eligible organization: Nominations are invited from TWAS members, selected individuals, as well as from science academies, national research councils, universities and scientific institutions. Nominations of women scientists are particularly encouraged. Self-nominations and nominations from jury members will not be accepted.

Candidates must be nationals of a developing country and must have lived and worked in a developing country for the last 10 years.
● The prizes will only be awarded to individuals for scientific research of outstanding international merit carried out at institutions in developing countries.
● Individuals who have received the Nobel Prize, the Tokyo/Kyoto Prize, the Crafoord Prize or the Abel Prize are not eligible for the TWAS-Lenovo Science Prize.
● Jury members and previous winners of the Trieste Science Prize (also administered by TWAS) will not be eligible for the TWAS-Lenovo Science Prize.

Submission mail: N/A

Other important link:

How to apply:Nominations for the 2017 prize should reach the TWAS Secretariat by 15 May 2017 at: TWAS-Lenovo Science Prize, TWAS Secretariat, ICTP campus, Strada Costiera 11, 34151 Trieste, Italy, Telephone: +39 040 2240387, E-mail:


Visit all Funding opportunities:

Facebook page-Fund for Bangladesh

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: